Man of the Match: Mansfield Town (Away)

It was the battle of the MTFC’s on Saturday as the Silkmen of Macclesfield Town took on the Stags of Mansfield Town. Unfortunately for our beloved blues, it was the side from Nottinghamshire who claimed all three points as they ran out 3-1 winners. Callum Evans did equalise for the Moss Rose side just before half-time, however two further goals in the second half for Mansfield meant that Sol’s team would head back to Cheshire looking to bounce back next Saturday as the Silkmen get ready to entertain North West rivals Crewe Alexandra. Despite our defeat at the One Call stadium on Saturday, who was your Man of the Match?

The Star Lane End Man of the Match online vote is now open and you can vote via the The Star Lane End Facebook page or email your nomination to


Callum Evan’s equaliser wasn’t enough on Saturday as high flying Mansfield Town picked up all three points (Image courtesy of Chelsie Wilson).

The deadline for the Mansfield Town Man of the Match is Wednesday 6th February at 2p.m. and your vote counts as the Star Lane End Player of the Year will pick up their award at the end of the season.

Update following Cheltenham Town (Away)

The Silkmen fell to a 3-2 defeat at the hands of Cheltenham Town after strikes from Michael Rose and Scott Wilson had put the Moss Rose side 2-0 up. It was a disappointing day for everyone involved with Macclesfield Town and the Macc lads even had to battle for the majority of the match with 10 ten men after centre half Nathan Cameron was shown a red card. However despite the loss, this did not stop you from voting for your Silkmen Man of the Match and for many of you, there was only one winner. Scott Wilson did pick up a vote for his tireless display, however the majority of your votes went to Silkmen ‘keeper Kieran O’Hara, who pulled off a number of fantastic saves throughout the match. Well done Kieran!

Here are the latest standings for The Star Lane End Man of the Match 2018/2019:

Rhys Taylor2
Danny Whitaker1
David Fitzpatrick2
James Pearson4
Callum Evans3
Kieran O'Hara8
Michael Rose3
Malachi Napa1
Nathan Blissett1
Keith Lowe2
Jared Hodgkiss1
Ben Stephens4
Koby Arthur2
Nathan Cameron5
Elliott Durrell4
Fiacre Kelleher1
Harry Smith4
Ryan Lloyd1
Scott Wilson1
Reece Cole1
Zak Jules1


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.