Man of the Match: Newcastle United Under 21’s (Away)

Sol Campbell’s first game in charge of Macclesfield Town saw the club lose their 144 year record of never losing a penalty shootout in a competitive fixture as The Magpies youngsters beat The Silkmen 5-3 from the spot in the second round of the Checkatrade Trophy, after the match had finished 1-1 after 90 minutes, with Scott Wilson equalising for the Moss Rose club six minutes from time. However, under the bright lights of St James’ Park, which Macc player do you feel impressed the most?

The Star Lane End Man of the Match online vote is now open and you can vote in a number of ways, either via the SLE forum (if you currently have access to it), the Star Lane End Facebook page or email your nomination to


Sol Campbell saw his new club put on an impressive display against the Under 21’s from Newcastle United (Image courtesy of Macclesfield Town Football Club).

The deadline for the Newcastle United Under 21’s Man of the Match is Friday 7th December at 2p.m. and your vote counts as the Star Lane End Player of the Year will pick up their award at the end of the season.

Update following Exeter City (Away)

The Silkmen made the long journey to the other St. James’ Park last week, as Macc faced Exeter City in a League 2 clash. The Moss Rose side picked up a crucial 3 points as Harry Smith struck the winner during the second half, as recently appointed Silkmen boss Sol Campbell watched from stands. For those fans who saw the match, your votes were spread and for the first time this season, the Star Lane End Man of the Match was shared! Callum Evans, James Pearson and even Sol himself received votes, however it was Harry Smith and Fiacre Kelleher, for their impressive displays down in Devon, that picked up the equal amount of votes for this match. Well done Harry and Fiacre!

Here are the latest standings for The Star Lane End Man of the Match 2018/2019:

Rhys Taylor2
Danny Whitaker1
David Fitzpatrick2
James Pearson4
Callum Evans3
Kieran O'Hara8
Michael Rose3
Malachi Napa1
Nathan Blissett1
Keith Lowe2
Jared Hodgkiss1
Ben Stephens4
Koby Arthur2
Nathan Cameron5
Elliott Durrell4
Fiacre Kelleher2
Harry Smith5
Ryan Lloyd1
Scott Wilson1
Reece Cole2
Zak Jules1


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.