Man of the Match: Exeter City (Away)

Macclesfield Town picked up a valuable three points on Tuesday evening as Harry Smith’s second half strike against Exeter City ensured that The Silkmen returned to Cheshire with three precious points. Sol Campbell, the former Tottenham Hotspur, Arsenal and England defender, who had been appointed as the new boss of the Moss Rose club earlier that day, watched from the stand at St James Park. However, for those who witnessed the long journey to Devon, who was your Silkmen Man of the Match?

The Star Lane End Man of the Match online vote is now open and you can vote in a number of ways, either via the SLE forum (if you currently have access to it), the Star Lane End Facebook page or email your nomination to


New Silkmen boss Sol Campbell witnessed his team pick up an impressive away win against The Grecians of Exeter City (Image courtesy of Macclesfield Town Football Club).

The deadline for the Exeter City Man of the Match is Tuesday 4th December at 2 p.m. and your vote counts as the Star Lane End Player of the Year will pick up their award at the end of the season.

Update following Yeovil Town (Home)

The Silkmen picked up their second league win of the season as The Glovers of Yeovil Town visited the Moss Rose Stadium last Saturday. On this occasion, when asked who your Man of the Match was, opinions were varied. There were honourable mentions to Nathan Cameron, Fiacre Kelleher, James Pearson, Ryan Lloyd, Michael Rose and the Saturday star on the bench, helping to run the Macc Town ship, the legendary Keith Lowe!

However, it was our wizard on the wing, Mr Elliott Durrell, who picked up the majority of your votes for his influential display which left every Silkmen supporter heading home with the Cheshire Cat’s grin on their face.

Here are the latest standings for The Star Lane End Man of the Match 2018/2019:

Rhys Taylor2
Danny Whitaker1
David Fitzpatrick2
James Pearson4
Callum Evans3
Kieran O'Hara8
Michael Rose3
Malachi Napa1
Nathan Blissett1
Keith Lowe2
Jared Hodgkiss1
Ben Stephens4
Koby Arthur2
Nathan Cameron5
Elliott Durrell4
Fiacre Kelleher2
Harry Smith5
Ryan Lloyd1
Scott Wilson1
Reece Cole2
Zak Jules1


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.