Carabao Cup Draw : All You Need To Know

Macclesfield Town FC will discover who their opponents will be in the first round of The Carabao Cup on Friday morning.

The Silkmen last played in this competition nearly seven years ago on Wednesday 24th August 2011 when the team and a large number of fans headed to Bolton Wanderers following a stunning performance to upset Championship side Hull City 2-0 in the first round thanks to an Emile Sinclair brace.

It was that man Sinclair again who put the visitors into a surprising lead at the home of The Trotters, our higher ranked opponents, however Bolton hit back in the second half thanks to an equaliser from Tuncay and a late winner from Martin Petrov.

This season’s first round draw will take place in Vietnam’s largest city, Ho Chi Minh City and it is due to take place at 10.45a.m. British Summer Time (BST).

There will be live text coverage via the English Football League’s (EFL) social feeds and previous winners of the competition Dennis Wise, Steve McManaman and Louis Saha will be present at the draw to deliver the 35 ties.


The first round draws will take place on the week commencing Monday 13th August 2018.

West Bromwich Albion, who finished bottom of the Premier League at the end of the 2017-2018 season, will be included in the first round draw. However, Stoke City and Swansea City, who were also relegated with The Baggies from England’s top flight division, will join in the second round of the competition alongside those Premier League clubs who are not competing in Europe this season.

North and South regionalisation will remain however.

It was announced last Friday by the EFL that extra time had been scrapped for The Carabao Cup and that seeding had been removed for the first two rounds. If the scores are level following 90 minutes, then games will go straight to a penalty shootout. This decision was made following a vote by member clubs. A penalty shootout will go back to using the traditional method as opposed to the recent ABBA trial, which will no longer be used in this competition

Fingers crossed that The Silkmen are landed with a plum tie ahead of our eagerly anticipated return to the EFL!

Here is the regionalisation and ball numbers for tomorrow morning’s draw:

North Section

1. Accrington Stanley

2. Barnsley

3. Blackburn Rovers

4. Blackpool

5. Bolton Wanderers

6. Bradford City

7. Burton Albion

8. Bury

9. Carlisle United

10. Crewe Alexandra

11. Derby County

12. Doncaster Rovers

13. Fleetwood Town

14. Grimsby Town

15. Hull City

16. Leeds United

17. Lincoln City

18. Macclesfield Town

19. Mansfield Town

20. Middlesbrough

21. Morecambe

22. Nottingham Forest

23. Notts County

24. Oldham Athletic

25. Port Vale

26. Preston North End

27. Rochdale

28. Rotherham United

29. Scunthorpe United

30. Sheffield United

31. Sheffield Wednesday

32. Shrewsbury Town

33. Sunderland

34. Tranmere Rovers

35. Walsall

36. Wigan Athletic

South Section

1. AFC Wimbledon

2. Aston Villa

3. Birmingham City

4. Brentford

5. Bristol City

6. Bristol Rovers

7. Cambridge United

8. Charlton Athletic

9. Cheltenham Town

10. Colchester United

11. Coventry City

12. Crawley Town

13. Exeter City

14. Forest Green Rovers

15. Gillingham

16. Ipswich Town

17. Luton Town

18. Millwall

19. Milton Keynes Dons

20. Newport County

21. Northampton Town

22. Norwich City

23. Oxford United

24. Peterborough United

25. Plymouth Argyle

26. Portsmouth

27. Queens Park Rangers

28. Reading

29. Southend United

30. Stevenage

31. Swindon Town

32. West Bromwich Albion

33. Wycombe Wanderers

34. Yeovil Town


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.