Silkmen Trio In National League Team Of The Year

Three Macclesfield Town players have made it into the National League Team of the Year, following a phenomenal season which saw our inspirational team secure promotion back to the Football League.

Shwan Jalal was named in between the posts after he kept fifteen league clean sheets which proved to be crucial in our success.

As well as that, Shwan produced some world class performances against the likes of Tranmere, Aldershot and Boreham Wood which exemplified the never say die mantra which ran throughout the whole squad.

A well respected and dedicated professional, Shwan wore his heart on his sleeve every single game and richly deserves to be honoured in this manner.

Jalal Ebbsfleet

Shwan Jalal – Recognition for a superb season (Pic courtesy of Chelsie Wilson)

The next player on the list was none other than our midfield maestro Danny Whitaker.

What an outstanding season Danny had, as he orchestrated the midfield with relentless passion and energy which shone though each and every game.

Danny also weighed in with nine crucial league goals and deservedly was voted the club’s Player of the Year at the recent Awards Evening.

Whitaker pen Aldershot CW

Danny Whitaker celebrates scoring the opening goal at Aldershot during another inspiring performance from the midfielder (Pic courtesy of Chelsie Wilson)

Last but by no means least, our Wizard on the Wing – Elliott Durrell completes the trio.

Since joining the club last summer from Chester, Elliott has become a fans favourite with some scintillating performances – many of which rendered him unplayable by opposition defences.

The National League Player of the Month for February weighed in with eight strikes during the season – which includes that majestic brace at Prenton Park which elicited rapturous applause from both sets of fans.

Durrell maidstone a 2

The mesmerising Elliott Durrell has rightly been named in the National League Team of the Year (Pic courtesy of Chelsie Wilson)

All three players have written themselves into Silkmen folklore this season and it is great to see that their passion, defiance and belief has been recognised.

The full team is as follows –

Shwan Jalal (Macclesfield), Manny Smith (Wrexham), Steve McNulty (Tranmere), Shaun Pearson (Wrexham), Elliott Durrell (Macclesfield), Danny Whitaker (Macclesfield), Craig Eastmond (Sutton), Louis Dennis (Bromley), Andy Cook (Tranmere), Danny Rowe (Fylde), Bruno Andrade (Boreham Wood)


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.